Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Letters of Wisdom by Wanda E. Brunstetter

 Letters of  Wisdom
Book Summary

Friendship Letters Series — Doretta Schwartz has always enjoyed writing letters and feels her letters can be a bit of a ministry to her friends. In this series, exchanging letters that contain open and honest feelings and struggles helps Doretta and two of her best friends through the darkest challenges of their lives.
Letters and Prayers Between Friends Become a Balm for Healing
Irma Miller thought having a family of her own would bring her joy and a sense of accomplishment, but she struggles with memories of the abuse she suffered as a child at the hand of her stepfather. When she becomes physically and emotionally abusive to her own children, she reaches out to her friend Doretta for prayer and wisdom. But Irma may find herself at an even darker emotional place before she will admit she needs professional help to heal the past traumas. Will Doretta’s letters of wisdom help Irma and her family, or will too much be broken to ever be repaired?
Find out in the third book of The Friendship Letters series by New York Times Bestselling Author Wanda E. Brunstetter.

My Thoughts

Letters of Wisdom by Wanda E. Brunstetter is the third book in The Friendship Letters series.  It can be read as a standalone, but I believe it is best to read the series in order.  This will allow you to know the characters and their backgrounds.  I thought the story was well-written with realistic, developed characters.  Irma Miller struggles to take care of her children while her husband is away auctioneering.  She has three children, and the two boys are active.  She looks forward to receiving letters from her dear friends, Doretta and Eleanor.  They send words of encouragement along with helpful books.  Irma had a pleasant childhood until her father passed away and her mother remarried.  Her stepfather was abusive, and Irma never understood why her mother did not intervene. 

We get to see how a victim of abuse can become an abuser.  Those who have suffered mental and/or physical abuse may find the story hard to read.  There were portions that I was unable to read.  Irma’s husband, LaVern, is a gem. It is obvious that he loves his wife and kids (and wants what is best for them).  I like how the abuse was addressed.  I was not aware that there were Christian counselors.   Abuse, guilt, self-worth, bitterness, resentment, and forgiveness are themes addressed in the story.  Letters of Wisdom is a character driven story.  I liked how the characters told the story.  I enjoyed catching up with the characters from the first two books.  Letters of Wisdom is an emotional tale with an overwhelmed mother, helpful letters, a hardworking husband, energetic tykes, finding forgiveness, and a gracious God.  

Letters of Wisdom will be out March 1 and can be preordered from Amazon*.  The first two books in The Friendship Letters series are Letters of Trust and Letters of Comfort.  Wanda has The Protector coming out August 1.  It is the first A Mifflin County Mysteries. You can find Wanda Brunstetter's other novels here.  Thank you for joining me today.  I am a stop on the Celebrate Lit Tour tomorrow for The Quilt Room Secret by Lisa Jones Baker.  It is the third book in The Heart of the Amish series.  I hope you will stop by to learn more about the Amish story and to enter the giveaway.  I am off to sort another closet.  I am slowly getting each closet organized.  I found a travel bag of  new Halloween t-shirts in the back of my closet along with two pair of sandals still in their boxes.  I hope that you have an uplifting day. Take care and Happy Reading!


The Avid Reader

*This post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

No comments:

Post a Comment