Tuesday, November 20, 2018

The Shifter's First Bite by Deanna Chase: Witch Island Brides

Hello!  The Whispered Word by Ellery Adams will be out on November 27.  It is the second book in A Secret, Book & Scone Society Novel series.  Slay Bells by T.C. Westcott releases on November 23.  It is the first book in the unique A Christmas Village Mystery series. 

The Shifter’s First Bite by Deanna Chase takes us to Witch Island.  Zinnia Franklyn is working on werewolf cookies for the crew filming Engaged to a Werewolf on the island when Reed Sinhawk walks into the bakery.  Zinnia fell in love with Reed with she was a teenager, but she did not hear from him after he left to make it big in Hollywood.  Reed is one of the stars of Engaged to a Werewolf and has been supposedly dating his co-star, Krissy Kimble.  Zinnia only has to take one look at Reed to verify she still is attracted to him and her love has not faded.  Reed has only ever loved one person, and he is determined to win her heart.  To get his happily ever after, he will have to deal with Krissy, overzealous reporters, the network and his father.  Will Reed’s inner wolf get the bite it desires?

The Shifter’s First Bite is a humorous and steamy story.  Deanna Chase has an engaging writing style that draws the reader into her world.  Reed is a sexy, handsome man who left Witch Island at eighteen to become an actor.  He has succeeded, but love is missing from his life.  Zinnia has been in love with Reed since she was a teen.  She wrote to him after he left, but Zinnia never received a response to her chatty letters.  Now they have a second chance, but there are obstacles in their way.  The desire between Reed and Zinnia is palpable.  I am surprised the hot springs they enjoyed did not reach the boiling point.  Krissy, though, keeps getting in their way.  There are some highly entertaining scenes that will have you in stitches (just thinking about it has me chuckling).   A person should know to wear underwear when trampling through the woods because you never know what you might fall into.  The Shifter’s First Bite does have foul language (unfortunately) and graphic intimate scenes between our main characters.  While The Shifter’s First Bite is the third book in Witch Island Brides, it can be read alone.  The island’s healer, Mystia appears in this story along with Zinnia’s sister, Frankie. The Shifter’s First Bite is a quick read that has cute characters, humor, romance, magic and passion.
Witch Island Brides
The first two books in the Witch Island Brides series are The Vampire's Last Dance and The Warlock's Enchanted Kiss.  I appreciate you taking time out of your day to read my review.  I hope you have an entertaining day.  I will see you tomorrow when I return to share my thoughts on a book I have recently read.  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment