Tuesday, March 21, 2023

Fields of Bounty by Lauraine Snelling

 Fields of Bounty

Book Summary

They must set aside their own plans and rely on their faith to bring their true destiny to light.

Lilac Nielsen's dream has come true: handsome young Reverend Ethan Pritchard has finally noticed her. Yet she must balance this new courtship with the pursuit of another dream--the publication of her artwork in a New York paper. She has secretly been submitting a series of drawings under a pen name, and if anyone traces the drawings back to her and finds out where Lilac and her sisters settled, the entire Nielsen family could be in danger.

As their family farm expands and Lilac's relationship with the reverend grows, it's a time of new beginnings. But when a family crisis back in Ohio shakes the Nielsen sisters, can they continue to build the new life they've begun in Nebraska? And will Lilac be prepared for what God has in store for her future?  
My Thoughts

Fields of Bounty by Lauraine Snelling takes readers back to 1857 in Salton, Nebraska to visit the Nielson sisters.  I thought Fields of Bounty was well-written with developed characters.  I have enjoyed getting to know the Nielson family.  They are a close, loving family.  I like how they are there for each other.  We have gotten to watch the main characters struggle as they establish themselves in the new town, work hard to keep expanding the town and achieve their dreams, and mature as individuals. Fields of Bounty features Lilac Nielson who catches the attention of Ethan Pritchard, their pastor.  We also get to catch up with the rest of the Nielson clan as well as some of the townspeople.  Lilac grows up in this book.  It is nice to see her mature.  I like how Lilac story ends.  I love the path the author chose for Lilac.  Lilac learns that God has a plan for her life and that dashing ahead is counterintuitive (bring her nothing but disappointment and pain).  I liked the life lessons in the story and how the author tied them to God plus provided relevant Bible passages.  Some of the ideas presented caused me to dig out my Bible.  I like how they provided deeper contemplation. 

I can tell that the author did her research for this series.  We get a glimpse at what life was like on a Nebraska farm in the 1850s.  Fields of Bounty is a feel-good story.  People do experience difficulties and heartache, but they work to overcome life’s challenges and become better human beings.  I was left with a couple of lingering questions when I finished the story.  I hope there will be more books featuring the Nielson family and the town of Salton.   Fields of Bounty is the third book in Leah's Garden.  I believe it is best to read the series in order.  It allows you to follow the Nielson family from the beginning.  There are a number of characters and new ones are introduced.  It is a challenge to keep all of them straight along with their storylines.  A list of characters at the beginning of the book would have been helpful.  I like that the author created strong, smart female characters.  They are businesswoman who are working to expand their farms and the town.   Fields of Bounty is a heartwarming tale with a hectic harvest, a patient pastor, a helpful family, a busy boarding house, and witty women.  

Fields of Bounty is available from Amazon*.  The first two books in Leah's Garden are The Seeds of Change and A Time to Bloom.  You can find Lauraine Snelling's other novels here.  Thank you for joining me today.  Tomorrow I am featuring On the Golden Cliffs by Tricia Goyer and Christen Krumm.  It is the second A Big Sky Amish Novel.  I hope that you have a joyful day.  Take care and Happy Reading!


The Avid Reader 

*This post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

No comments:

Post a Comment