Thursday, March 8, 2018

His Risk: The Amish of Hart County

His Risk by Shelley Shepard Gray is the fourth novel in The Amish of Hart County series.  Calvin Fisher left Horse Cave, Kentucky when he was fourteen years old and has done many questionable acts.  Calvin is now an undercover informant for the DEA.  He gives them intel on the Kings, a gang who commits illegal acts.  Calvin has worked his way up the ranks to get close to West Powers, the president of the organization.  Calvin receives a phone call from his sister-in-law, Waneta Fisher.  Mark, his brother, has renal cell carcinoma in his right kidney and will be undergoing surgery.  Calvin needs to return home to Hose Cave to be there for his brother.  But Calvin needs to ensure that trouble does not follow him home.  Alice, an Amish preschool teacher, is housesitting for her brother, Ed while he and his wife are vacationing in Pinecraft.  She is on the front porch when Calvin arrives.  The pair are drawn to each other, but Calvin does not feel he is good enough for Alice.  Alice knows she should avoid Calvin since he is Englisch and has had a troublesome history.  As they spend time together, their feelings grow.  One night, Alice is walking home, when a car goes by her slowly several times.  The next morning, the car is found abandoned and on fire.  Then the preschool is broken into and many of the items inside destroyed.  Calvin fears that the incidents are related to him and his connection with the Kings.  Alice begins to wonder how well she really knows Calvin.  Who is behind the incidents?  Can Calvin keep Alice safe?  Come along to Hart County and get to know Alice and Calvin in His Risk.

His Risk is a compelling romantic suspense novel that is well-written with interesting characters.  I like the authors writing style.  The story has a steady pace and smooth transitions.  His Risk is told from Calvin, Alice, Irene and West’s perspective.  I like being able to discover how each character was feeling and thinking.  Her characters are realistic with their doubts, struggles, and flaws.  Alice was a strong, smart spunky woman with an inquisitive nature.  Calvin has a danger and mystery about him which attracts Alice.  While His Risk is the fourth book in the series, it can be read alone.  Do not be surprised, though, that after reading His Risk you want to pick up the other three novels in the seriesHis Risk is a story about forgiveness.  Forgiving of others and oneself.  Other Christian elements include trusting God, power of prayer, having strong faith and following God’s path for your life.  There is an issue of a parent abusing a small child in the book.  I was glad to see Irene stand up to the bully, but I was puzzled by Alice’s handling of the situation. I hope we get to find out more about Irene in future books in the series. I enjoyed watching the characters grow in character and faith as they faced adversity.  The four characters learn valuable lessons along the way.  His Risk is an emotional novel with danger, mystery and romance.  The first three novels in The Amish of Hart County are Her Secret, His Guilt and The Gift.

Enter to win a copy of His Risk. Five winners will be chosen! Click the image below to enter to win. The winners will be announced March 28 on the Litfuse blog!

gray pin1

Her Fear will be the fifth book in The Amish of Hart County and it will be published on July 24.  Thank you for reading my review.  Next time I will be featuring Hummus and Homicide by Tina Kashian.  Have a beautiful day and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment