Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Patterns of Change

I hope everyone is having a lovely Tuesday.  Thanksgiving will be here before we know it (and I keep remembering things I forgot to buy at the store).  Today is All Our Uncles are Monkeys Day also known as Evolution Day.   It is a day to celebrate the publication On the Origin of Species by Charles Darwin.  It was published on this day in 1859.  It was a very controversial publication.  If you like cozy mysteries, Yarned and Dangerous by Sadie Hartwell came out today.  It is good book.  I will post my review on it tomorrow!

Patterns of Change by Terri DuLong is the first book in the Ormond Beach series (and came out today).  Chloe Radcliffe is trying to get over the recent deaths of her Aunt Maude and her significant other, Gabe (who died suddenly).  She has just been drifting along and believes it might be time for a change.  Chloe decides to visit Ormond Beach, Florida.  Chloe and Gabe were going to move there before he passed away.  Chloe rents a condo from Henry Wagner.  She meets Yarrow and Mavis Anne Overby.  Yarrow owns the Yarrow’s Tea Shop and Mavis Anne owns the beautiful Victorian home that Chloe has been dreaming about (before she ever saw it).  Mavis Anne convinces Chloe to open a yarn shop in a cute building behind the Victorian Home (named Koi House).  Half the building will be the new yarn shop and the other half with be Yarrow’s tea shop.  This is a new start for Chloe.  Then she is reminded of an incident from college.  In order for Chloe to move forward with her life (especially her love life) she will need to learn forgiveness.  Can Chloe forgive and embrace her new life in Ormond Beach?

You will have to read Patterns of Change to find out.  I enjoyed Patterns of Change.  It is nice to see Chloe and all our old friends from the Cedar Key series.  I like that she is moving on (and we will get more stories).  Patterns of Change is easy and enjoyable to read.  The setting of Ormond Beach is just lovely (the author wrote some gorgeous descriptions of the city and beach area).  The Victorian home described in the book is my dream home and I can understand why Chloe wants to live in it.  I like the message of forgiveness in the book.  It is so hard to forgive someone especially when they committed a horrible act against a person.  The other message in the book is friendship.  Chloe arrives in town not knowing a soul and ends up with some great new friends.  They are united through their love of yarn and creating objects with fiber (there is also a great shawl pattern enclosed in the book).  It does help to have read the Cedar Key series (so you know the history of Chloe), but it is not necessary (since it is a new city and new characters).  I give Patterns of Change 4.5 out of 5 stars (there are a couple of slow areas).  I liked reading Patterns of Change and will look forward to reading the next book in the Ormond Beach series.

The books in the Cedar Cove series are:  Spinning Forward, Casting About (available on Kindle Unlimited), Sunrise on Cedar Key (available on Kindle Unlimited), Postcards from Cedar Key (available on Kindle Unlimited), Secrets on Cedar Key (available on Kindle Unlimited), and Farewell to Cedar Key.  I received a complimentary copy of Patterns of Change from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Thank you for stopping by and reading my latest review.  I am currently reading Happy Homicides (various authors).  I was lucky enough to get a copy through Reading Alley.  I am off to bake cookies.  Have a great afternoon!  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment