Monday, August 1, 2016

Kilt at the Highland Games: A Liss MacCrimmon Mystery Novel

Happy Monday!  I am trying to figure out how my mother messed up her medication.  I filled it (her med box thingie) to last her through Wednesday. Somehow it is empty today.  I am now investigating talking reminder clocks for her (I am sure she will find a way to mess it up)!  Some great new books come out tomorrow.  Clock and Dagger by Julianne Holmes, Silk Stalking by Diane Vallere, Grilling the Subject by Daryl Wood Gerber by are just a few (and I will be reviewing all of them).  I will list more of the new releases tomorrow.

Kilt at the Highland Games is the tenth book in A Liss MacCrimmon Mystery series.  Liss MacCrimmon Ruskin is getting ready for the Western Maine Highland Games which are being held in Moosetookalook, Maine (what a mouthful) this year.  Liss’ shop The Scottish Emporium will have a booth at the event.  One evening Liss awakens and looks out the window.  Angie’s Books is on fire.   The emergency bells rings out calling for assistance from the volunteer fire fighters (Dan Ruskin, Liss’ husband is a member).  Liss rushes over as well worried about her friend, Angie Hogencamp and her family.  Angie is nowhere to be seen and neither are her two children, Beth and Bradley.  It turns out that they are not in the burning building either.  Where are the Hogencamp’s?  Liss starts checking around town to see who saw Angie last.  Liss thought she knew Angie very well, but everyone has secrets. 

The Western Maine Highland Games begin and Liss hopes this will distract her from her worry over Angie.  But then town selectman, Jason Graye is found dead.  Jason was not a well-liked man.  He was trying to close the library to save the town money and Dolores Mayfield, town librarian, had declared war (want to guess who is a main suspect).  Liss, of course, is drawn to the crime and cannot help but look into it (she just loves investigations).  Liss is going to be busy tracking down Angie and her family as well as Jason’s killer.   

While Kilt at the Highland Games is the tenth book in the series, it can be a stand-alone novel.  Kaitlyn Dunnett updates the readers on Liss and her history.  The characters in the book are well developed and likeable (Aunt Peg is entertaining).  I found the novel easy to read as are all of the book in this series.   There is a wonderful description of Dan Ruskin’s puzzle tables in the book.  Anyone that loves putting together puzzles will want one of these tables (I do)!  The two mysteries in Kilt at the Highland Games are appealing and complex.    I give Kilt at the Highland Games 4 out of 5 stars.  Kilt at the Highland Games is told from more than one point-of-view which is a little confusing (it gets easier the further you get into the book).  I have read every book in this series and have liked all of them.  I will definitely read the next book in ALiss MacCrimmon Mystery series.

The other novels in A Liss MacCrimmon Mystery series are Kilt Dead, Scone Cold Dead, A Wee Christmas Homicide, The Corpse Wore Tartan, Scotched, Bagpipes, Brides and Homicides, Vampires, Bones, and Treacle Scones,  Ho-Ho Homicide, and The Scottie Barked at Midnight.  I received a complimentary copy of the novel in exchange for an honest evaluation.  The opinions and comments expressed are strictly my own.

I hope all of you had a wonderful day (you deserve it).  I am off to read (In the Land of Milk and Honey by Jane Jensen) and enjoy my dinner.  I will return soon with another book review.  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader (and Honest Reviewer)

No comments:

Post a Comment