Thursday, August 18, 2016

Where Hope Prevails

Happy Thursday!  I am a little under the weather today.  I just cannot get rid of this flu bug.  I thought I would share a few Christian writers with you today.  If you enjoy Christian or Amish fiction, there are some amazing writers.  A few of my favorites are Amy Clipston, Judith McCoy Miller, David Bunn, Wanda Brunstetter, Kelly Irvin, Olivia Newport, and Shelley Sheppard Gray.  You can find their books on Amazon (as well as other sites). Amy Clipston writes some lovely Christmas novels like A Plain and Simple Christmas (they will definitely put you in the mood for the holiday season).

Where Hope Prevails by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan is the final book in the Return to the Canadian West series.  Elizabeth “Beth” Thatcher is returning to Coal Valley after being away for the summer.  Beth is expecting everything and everyone to be the same, but she is in for a shock.  There have been many changes to the town.  Trees have been cut down to make way for new buildings.  Abigail has taken over the bar for a tea house and the school will now have its own building.  There are two big changes that Beth was not prepared for at all.  Beth will now be staying in her own apartment over Abigail’s Tea House.  Beth loved her room at Molly’s and is very sad to move.  But with all the new miners and the construction boom, Molly needs Beth’s room.  Plus, there is going to be a second teacher.  The school board came through and so how many children were going to be attending school (several new families in town).  They have hired Mr. Robert Harris Hughes, and he will be taking over Beth’s room at Molly’s boarding house.  Beth has a hard time adjusting to all the changes.  But there is one more change for Beth.  Jack Thornton proposes to Beth (finally).  They have decisions to make regarding their future.  Join Beth, Molly, Marnie, Abigail, Frank, Jack and the others for another year in Coal Valley in Where Hope Prevails. 

Where Hope Prevails is a lovely nice and a good conclusion to the series.  Beth got on my nerves a little in this book with her doubts, skittishness, afraid to speak up, and her dislike of change.  It did not seem to go with her character.  Where Hope Prevails is well-written (as are all of Janette Oke’s books) and enjoyable to read.  I do suggest that you read the previous books in the series (or at least have watched the show on Hallmark) prior to reading Where Hope Prevails.  Otherwise, you will not understand everything that is happening. I give Where Hope Prevails 4 out of 5 stars (I liked it).  The ending is sweet and will make you give a little sigh (of pleasure) when you close the book (or e-reader).  The book has a good moral message.  It emphasizes the importance of prayer, relying on God, how we are all flawed, and how God has a plan for us and he will nudge us in the right direction if we listen. 

The other novels in Return to the Canadian West series are When Courage Calls and Where Trust Lies.  The Canadian West series (which starts with When Calls the Heart) is about Elizabeth Thatcher (Beth's aunt) and her adventures in teaching.  It is a wonderful series of books and I highly recommend them (as well as the Love Comes Softly series).  I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review of the book.  The comments and opinions expressed are strictly my own.

I hope all of you are enjoying a special day (you deserve it).  I am off to try and do a few chores (and then crawl back into bed).  My next review is on The Cat, the Collector, and the Killer by Leann Sweeney.  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment