Monday, February 5, 2018

Amish Cooking Class - The Celebration

Happy Monday!  Desired in Darkness by Heather Sunseri is out today.  The fifth book in the In Darkness series.   Find out if Brooke and Declan finally catch up with Romeo.  

Amish Cooking Class – The Celebration by Wanda E. Brunstetter is the third book in this Amish Cooking Class series.  Lyle and Heidi Troyer are enjoying being foster parents to Marsha and Randy.  The two children lost their parents in an auto accident and have been living with the Troyer’s for the last four months.  Marsha is starting to talk, but Randy still refuses to obey Heidi at times. Lyle suggests that Heidi hold cooking classes for children.  It will give the kids a chance to socialize with other children.  Heidi quickly learns that teaching children is very different from adults.  Anything can and will happen especially when children are present.  Heidi has a diverse group in her latest cooking class.  Miranda Cooper is estranged from her husband which leaves her managing their two children on her own.  Her husband, Trent wants to return home and hopes Miranda will forgive him for his transgression.  Darren Keller is a widower whose son loves cookies.  The cooking classes will teach the boy cooking and keep him occupied.  Denise McGuire might as well be raising her daughter on her own.  Her husband is busy with work and Kassidy is getting out of control.  Ellen Blackburn is a single mother.  Her daughter, Becky is very shy, and Ellen hopes the class will help the child come out of her shell.  Velma Kimball and her family have moved in down the street.  Velma would like her daughter, Peggy Ann to attend the class.  Due to lack of funds, though, she cannot afford it and hopes to work out a trade with Heidi.  With God’s help, Heidi will make it through the six weeks of classes and hopefully help each of these families. 

Amish Cooking Class – The Celebration can be read alone, but I highly recommend reading the first two books in this lovely, heartwarming series.  I found the book to be well-written and to have a nice pace.  I was immediately drawn into the story and I did not want to stop reading.  I stayed up very late to finish this marvelous book.  Heidi is such a sweet woman with a big heart.  The author created characters that are very real.  They have problems in their lives that readers can relate to.  The scripture provided on the back of the recipe cards plus the behavior they witness in the Troyer home guides each of them.  They begin to question their lives and make changes.  Some of the themes present in Amish Cooking Class – The Celebration are forgiveness, grace, love, friendship, prayer, trusting God, family, helping others and learning from our mistakes.  We all make mistakes (sometimes the same one over and over).  The trick is to learn from them.  Amish Cooking Class – The Celebration is my favorite book in the series.  I enjoyed reading each of them, but this one is special.  The children added another element to the story.  Your heart will go out to the families especially the Kimball’s.  This is one of those books that will tug at your heartstrings as well as provide you with moments of laughter.  The ending was delightful.  Ms. Brunstetter did a fabulous job of wrapping up the various storylines and providing readers with a joyous conclusion.  Fans of Wanda E. Brunstetter and Amish fiction will be delighted with Amish Cooking Class – The Celebration.  I am sorry to see this special series end.  Amish Cooking Class - The Celebration will be available on Tuesday, February 6.  The first two book in the Amish Cooking Class series are The Seekers and The Blessing.

Thank you for visiting today.  I will return tomorrow with my thoughts on The Fast and The Furriest by Sofie Ryan.  May you have a thoughtful day.  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader  

No comments:

Post a Comment