Thursday, February 8, 2018

Phoebe's Light: Nantucket Legacy

Good Morrow!  Lethal Licorice by Amanda Flower will be released on February 27.  It is the second book in An Amish Candy Shop Mystery seriesAssaulted Caramel (first book in this series) is currently $.99 on Amazon (I do not know when the sale will end).  

Phoebe’s Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher is the first book in the Nantucket Legacy series.  On September 8, 1767 on Nantucket Island, Phoebe Starbuck, a Quaker, turns eighteen.  Her father, Barnabas Starbuck presents her with Great Mary’s journal (her great grandmother).  It passes from one generation to the next to the one who would benefit most from Great Mary’s wisdom (it is a shame that Barnabas never read it).  Phoebe is excited to see that Phineas Foulger, captain of the Fortuna, has returned to the island.  Phoebe fancies herself in love with the older widower and hopes to finally capture his attention.  After a short time, Phineas and Phoebe are wed and set sail on the Fortuna.  Phoebe has longed for adventure her whole life, but she soon discovers that life at sea does not suit her (she suffers from mal de mer).  She spends her days in her quarters with the comfort of Great Mary’s journal.  Matthew Macy and Phoebe were once betrothed to one another until Matthew turned away from God.  Matthew, though, has never stopped caring for her.  When Barnabas asks him to join the crew of the Fortuna to keep an eye on Phoebe, Matthew agrees.  Phoebe is in for a life altering journey, and she will soon need the wisdom in Great Mary’s journal and help from Matthew to aid those she loves.

Phoebe’s Light is a captivating historical novel.  It was fascinating to go back to this time period and read about life on Nantucket Island.  The author did a wonderful job at integrating the diary entries into the book.  I was afraid the entries would pull me out of the story, but it did just the opposite.  I kept wanting to know what else was in the diary and what would happen next to Phoebe.  Phoebe’s Light well-written and it has a nice steady pace with vivid descriptions of the island, people, the ships, whales and etc.  I appreciate authors whose words allow me to picture the scenes in my head as I read (just the right amount of detail).  The transitions were smooth between chapters and the diary entries.  I could tell that the author did her research for this novel especially on Mary Coffin Starbuck and the whaling industry (it is terrible how many whales were slaughtered).  She captured the speech of the Quakers and the people of this era (there is a glossary).  The story contains incredible characters that are well-developed and realistic. There are characters readers will love and others that you will dislike intensely (and hope that they get what they deserve).  I like that Ms. Fisher did the book on Quakers.  There are few fiction books that incorporate this religious sect and it was interesting to learn more about their history (how they came to America and the persecution they suffered).  The mystery element added another level to this rich story.  There is a lovely ending that will have you anxiously awaiting Minding the Light (second book in Nantucket Legacy series) which will come out on July 3.

Thank you for visiting today.  I am currently reading A Home for Hannah by Amy Lillard which will be published on February 27.   Tomorrow I will be sharing my thoughts on As Bright As Heaven by Susan Meissner.  May you have a excellent day.  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment