Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Live and Let Growl

Happy Wednesday!  I hope all of you are having a bright and happy day. I discovered a new cozy mystery series on Amazon I wanted to share with you.  Blown Away by Clover Tate is the first book in the new A Kite Shop Mystery series.  It will be out in February 2017 and is available for pre-order (which I did).  So many great books to read and so little time!

Live and Let Growl by Laurien Berenson is the nineteenth Melanie Travis Mystery.  Melanie Travis is looking forward to spring break.  Then it is sprung on her by her family that she is going with Aunt Peg to Kentucky.  Aunt Peg has just inherited a thoroughbred named Lucky Luna and wants to check it out.  Aunt Peg (Margaret Turnbull) is also a judge of Standard Poodles in a dog show nearby.  Before checking out the horse, they meet up with Ellie Gates Wanamaker.  She is an old friend of Peg's (she used to raise Standard Poodles until a car accident). Ellie is bright, energetic and vibrant woman.  Peg gets her to agree to come for a day at the dog show.  The next day they hear that Ellie died in an accident on the family farm.  Peg is not sure it is an accident and wants to investigate.  Melanie agrees to look into the matter.   Who wanted Ellie dead?  Can Melanie and Peg find the culprit before there is another "accident"?

Live and Let Growl was well-written and contained good characters.  I felt Aunt Peg was little overbearing and Melanie easily pushed or manipulated.  The story got bogged down, though, with all the details about dog shows and thoroughbred horses (it was very confusing).  The pace of the book did pick up during the last ten percent of the book.  The mystery was no puzzle despite the writer's attempts at misdirection and to lead the reader down a different path.  I kept hoping for a good twist (I ended up inventing my own).  Live and Let Growl can be read as a stand-alone book.  The author does a good job of updating the reader on the characters, habits, and past adventures.  I give Live and Let Growl 3.5 out of 5 stars.  Will I read the next book in the series?  Yes.  I believe I might like the book more without all the dog show judging details (the judging is extremely perplexing) and horse information (it was a little too much information for one novel).  I am glad that I did read this book because it introduced me to a new series and author.

There are eighteen other books in the Melanie Travis series.  The first book in the series is A Pedigree to Die For which is currently $1.99 on Amazon.  You can find all the titles here on I received a complimentary copy of Live and Let Growl from NetGalley in exchange for an honest evaluation of the novel.

Thank you so much for visiting.  I am currently enjoying No Other Will Do by Karen Witmeyer and The Darkness Knows by Cheryl Honigford.  I hope all of you will return tomorrow for my next book review.  Take care, have a good evening, and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment