Sunday, October 21, 2018

When the Soul Mends: Sisters of the Quilt Trilogy

Happy Sunday!  I hope everyone is having a relaxing weekend.  Six Cats a Slayin' by Miranda James, The Christmas Remedy by Cindy Woodsmall & Erin Woodsmall, and His Promise by Shelley Shepard Gray will be released on October 23.  Christmas, Criminals and Campers by Tonya Kappes comes out on October 26.  It is the fourth book in A Camper & Criminals Cozy Mystery series.  

When the Soul Mends by Cindy Woodsmall is the final book in Sisters of the Quilt trilogy.  Hannah Lapp receives a call from her sister, Sarah that Matthew Esh has been injured in a fire and his brother, David passed away when their business caught fire.  Hannah arranges for time off and heads home to Owl’s Perch, Pennsylvania.  Hannah left home two and a half years ago when she was seventeen.  She works for Dr. Lehman and is taking classes to become a nurse.  Hannah has found a family with Martin Palmer along with his niece and nephew.  Hannah arrives at the funeral and is instantly met with disapproval which reopens old wounds.  She notices that Sarah is behaving oddly, and that there are burns on her hands which Sarah cannot explain.  Something is up with Sarah and Hannah wants to get her help before she returns to her life in the Englisch world.  Paul Waddell, Hannah’s old boyfriend, works as a counselor at Better Path.  With Paul’s assistance, the family can get Sarah the help she desperately needs.  It also gives Hannah and Paul an opportunity to resolve the past.  As issues become resolved, Hannah realizes her feeling for Paul are still there.  Hannah will need to make a choice between her new life in the Englisch world or her old one in Owl’s Perch.

When the Soul Mends is not a standalone novel.  You need to read the book in the Sisters of the Quilt series in order as each book builds upon the previous one.  I thought When the Soul Mends contains good writing with well-developed and thoughtful characters.  The story has a languid pace.  I wish it had been a little peppier and edited for length (368 pages).  While I enjoyed When the Soul Mends, I did find it predictable.  A couple has a misunderstanding that takes them the book to resolve.  I wanted the couple to have a real conversation.   I like how the author handled Sarah’s mental health issues and how it added depth to the book.  The theme of forgiveness is dominate in When the Soul Mends.  Only when you truly forgive can you begin to heal.  I appreciated the epilogue which wrapped up all the storylines.  When the Soul Mends is a lovely conclusion to the Sisters of the Quilt series. 

The first two books in Sisters of the Quilt series are When the Heart Cries and When the Morning Comes.  Thank you for joining me today.  I will be featuring Drop Dead Ornaments by Lois Winston tomorrow as part of the Great Escapes Virtual Book Tour.  May you have a tranquil day.  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader 

No comments:

Post a Comment