Sunday, September 30, 2018

Halloween Murder: Two Lucy Stone Halloween Mysteries

Greetings! A Seat by the Hearth by Amy Clipston will be published on November 13.  It is the latest An Amish Homestead Novel.  The Skeleton Makes a Friend by Leigh Perry will be available on November 6.  It is the fifth book in A Family Skeleton Mystery series (delightfully entertaining).  

Halloween Murder by Leslie Meier contains two previously published A Lucy Stone Halloween Mysteries.  Trick or Treat Murder takes us back to Tinker’s Cove, Maine where Lucy Stone has recently given birth to Zoe.  There have been a rash of fires around town where someone is setting fire to older homes.  The latest victim is the Hopkins Homestead owned by Monica and Roland Mayes. This time fire officials find the deceased homeowner, Monica Mayes inside the home.  The Hopkins home was Bill’s first big project after they moved to Tinker’s Cove.  Lucy and Bill became friends with Monica as she oversaw the renovations.  When not baking cupcakes for a Halloween party, working out at The Body Shop to lose the baby weight or taking care of her family, Lucy is looking for the elusive arsonist.  Lucy needs to proceed with caution or she could get singed.

Wicked Witch Murder has Lucy reluctantly visits Solstice with her friends Pam, Rachel and Sue.  It is the purple shop owned by newcomer Diana Ravenscroft.  Diana is a proclaimed witch who provides psychic readings at her shop.  Lucy is out walking Libby when she finds a burned corpse in a clearing tied to a tree.  Something sinister is at work and Ike Stoughton is not a fan of Diana or her shop.  He makes his opinions known with a letter to the editor.  Lucy is less than thrilled when she finds Sarah and Zoe along with Abby Stoughton practicing witchcraft at home.  Lucy would prefer to avoid Diana, but it is unavoidable when Diana needs a safe haven.  The victim is identified as Malcom Malebranche, the head of Diana’s coven.  With Diana at the top of the suspect list, Lucy has no choice but to investigate (or the lady will never leave her home).  Can Lucy find the killer in time?

Trick or Treat Murder and Wicked Witch Murder are the two books included in Halloween Murder.  They are not new stories to A Lucy Stone Mystery series.  They are book three and book sixteen respectively.  It has been a while since I have these two books and I enjoyed revisiting Lucy and Tinker’s Cove at a different time.  The stories contain good writing with steady pacing.  We get to see how Lucy and her family have changed over the years.  The book contains friendly characters, a charming town and two good mysteries.  I found the whodunit is Wicked Witch Murder to be more complex than that in Trick or Treat Murder.  Halloween Murder can be read as a standalone.  All the information a reader needs is provided.  Halloween Murder contains two entertaining cozy mysteries that will enthrall you.  My rating for Halloween Murder is 4 out of 5 stars.  Join Lucy and her friends in Tinker’s Cove for a wicked good time.

Thank you for joining me today.  I will be sharing my review of Glitter Bomb by Laura Childs tomorrow as part of the Great Escapes Virtual Book Tour.   I hope you have a calming day.   Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment