Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Courage of the Witch by Deanna Chase

Courage of the Witch (Witches of Keating Hollow #5)

Happy Book Release Day!  The Last Year of the War by Susan Meissner, Murder Once Removed by S.C. Perkins, Hetty's Secret War by Rosie Clarke (I will feature on March 22) and One Potato, Two Potato, Dead by Lynn Cahoon are a few of the new books out today.

Witches of Keating Hollow

Courage of the Witch by Deanna Chase is the fifth tale in Witches of Keating Hollow series.  Hanna Pelsh is part owner in the Incantation Café with her mother.  She bakes up tasty treats while her mother, Mary manages the café.  Hanna has been missing her friend, Rhys Silver since he pulled away over a year ago.  They had been friends for a long time, and Rhys helped her deal with the loss of sister, Charlotte to a rare autoimmune disease.  Just when they were starting to get become more than friends, Rhys suddenly pulled back.  Rhys works at Townsend Brewery where he has been working on a new line of ciders.  He keeps active, but Rhys misses Hanna.  After what he learned about a year ago, Rhys does not feel it would be fair to Hanna to become more than friends.  Mary Pelsh and Barb Garber decide to set up their children.  Hanna is introduced to Chad Garber a pianist who has just moved to town and he immediately invites her out to eat.  Rhys sees the pair together and the green eyed monster rears its ugly head.  It is time for Rhys to make a choice regarding Hanna.  Tell Hanna what he learned that caused him to withdraw from their relationship or let her go forever.
 Deanna Chase

Courage of the Witch is part of the Witches of Keating Hollow series and I believe it is better if you read the books in order (they build upon each other).  Courage of the Witch is well-written (as are all of Deanna Chase’s stories) with steady pacing. Deanna Chase has an engaging writing style that draws the reader into the story.  Hanna is a vibrant woman who loves to bake, spend time with her friends, and yearns for someone special in her life.  She thought Rhys was that person until he told her that they should just be friends.  Hanna began falling in love with Rhys when he took her to a dance in high school when her date stood her up.  He made it a very special night.  Rhys Silver is charming, kind and loyal.  He is in love in with Hanna and does not want to see her hurt.  Misunderstanding and miscommunication always lead to trouble.  Hanna and Rhys have a difficult path ahead of them, but the result is worth it.  As it says in the book “love is messy”.  There is laughter, heartbreak, love, drama and tears in this steamy paranormal romance.  I like the magical elements included in the story.  I just wish there was more of them.  I do want to let readers know that the story does contain foul language.  Courage of the Witch is an emotional, heartwarming romantic story that is a must read for fans of Deanna Chase.
Dragons of Bourbon Street (Jade Calhoun Series Book 9) by [Chase, Deanna]
You can find the complete list of the Witches of Keating Hollow books hereDragons of Bourbon Street by Deanna Chase will be out on April 16.  It is the ninth book in The Jade Calhoun Series.  I appreciate you reading my review today.  I will be back tomorrow with my thoughts on another book that I have recently read.  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader
vickiscream 🌵 (@vickisigh) | Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment