Friday, June 4, 2021

Sustaining Faith by Janette Oke & Laurel Oke Logan

Sustaining Faith

Book Summary

So much has been accomplished. Lillian Walsh has stepped out courageously beyond what she'd ever dreamed of being able to achieve. She and her newly rediscovered sister, Grace, have settled three children from England into new Canadian homes and are prepared to place two more just after the New Year, when it happens--another painful disruption. 

A white lie the sisters used to protect some orphans has resulted in an official complaint and a letter revoking the sisters' permission to manage their little children's home. And unexpectedly, Walter, the young man who has won Lillian's heart, departs for a job in the oil industry without leaving any hope for their future, making her confused and lonely.

With more children on their way from England needing caring homes, Lillian and Grace must use every ounce of gumption to keep their mission alive. But when startling information about the past surfaces and a new arrival comes via suspicious circumstances, they'll have to decide what is worth fighting for and what is better left in God's hands. 
My Thoughts

Sustaining Faith by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan is the 2nd book in When Hope Calls series.  I recommend reading Unyielding Hope before embarking on this new tale.  Sustaining Faith picks up where Unyielding Hope left off.  This is a heartwarming Christian novel.  It is well-written with developed, realistic characters.  Lillian and Grace are good women with big hearts.  They have opened their home to children being brought over from England who have yet to find forever homes.  They care about each child placed in their care.  A wee lie, though, has gotten them into hot water.  The authors captured the locale as well as the time period.  I can tell they did their research for the series.  The story moves along at a gentle pace with an alternating point-of-view.  While I enjoyed reading Sustaining Faith, it does not have the same ease or pacing as Janette Oke’s earlier works (I have read every book that Janette Oke has written).  I found it that it took me longer to get into the story because of the pacing and the amount of detail.  The children are endearing.  I felt bad for these kids being sent off on an unknown voyage and not knowing with whom they would end up nor where.  There is romance in the story, but it is not the main event.  I like the Christian elements woven into the story.  It was not heavy handed or preachy.  We know that God is in charge, and we must wait for Him to show us the way in His own timing. Sustaining Faith leaves us with a cliffhanger, and we must wait for the next installment to find out what happens next.  If you are a fan of Hallmark’s When Calls the Heart, you will like Sustaining Faith.  Sustaining Faith is a sweet story that will touch your heart.  

Sustaining Faith can be obtained from Amazon*.  The first book in When Hope Calls series is Unyielding Hope (can be borrowed through Kindle Unlimited)--ebook version is $.99 on Amazon (I do not know how long the sale will last).  You can find Janette Oke's other delightful novels here.  The novels Laurel Oke Logan has co-written with Janette Oke are here.  Thank you for reading my review today.  I will be back tomorrow The Diva Serves Forbidden Fruit by Krista Davis.  It is the 14th A Domestic Diva Mystery.  I hope that you have an entertaining day.  Take care, be kind, and Happy Reading!


The Avid Reader

*This post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

No comments:

Post a Comment