Sunday, June 6, 2021

The Seeds of Change by Lauraine Snelling

The Seeds of Change
 Book Summary

The Seeds of Change by Lauraine Snelling has Larkspur “Lark” Nielson saving her brother, Jonah’s hide once again after he himself into a pickle with a gambler at the local salon.  Lark manages to fleece the cheating gambler and expose his evil ways to the other patrons.  Unfortunately, the gambler does not take kindly to having been bested by a woman and vows to get revenge.  Lark also has the angry Deacon Wiesel wanting retribution for her outspoken ways.  Lark along with her three sisters decide it is time to head west.  Lark dons her “Clark” persona so the four sisters can avoid unwanted attention. The journey is difficult with various challenges along the way.  Lark will need strength, wits, and determination to get them safely to their destination.  She just hopes that the gambler nor the vile Deacon Wiesel discover their whereabouts so the Nielson sisters can have a fresh start.  

 My Thoughts

The Seeds of Change by Lauraine Snelling is the debut of Leah’s Garden series.  I have read all of Lauraine Snelling’s novels and she never fails to disappoint.  I thought The Seeds of Change was well-written with developed characters.  I could tell Lauraine Snelling did her research.  The author captured the time period with the dialogue, clothing, attitudes, conveyances, and so much more. I was transported back in time as the Nielson sisters traveled west looking for a new place to settle.  This is an inspiring tale.  We get to see what people can accomplish when they put their minds to it and rely on God.  The Seeds of Change is a faith filled story.  The Nielson sisters as well as the majority of the other characters are Christians who rely on God.  They pray for guidance and want to make sure they are following God’s path for their lives.  This is also a story about survival.  It was not easy to survive in the west.  This story has drama, faith, family, joy, sorrow, and romance. The Seeds of Change is an engrossing story that held my attention until the very end.  I was sorry to turn the last page.  I look forward to reading the next story in Leah’s Garden series.   The Seeds of Change is an uplifting, engaging tale that lingered with me longer after I finished it.  

The Seeds of Change can be purchased from Amazon*.  You can find Lauraine Snelling's other novels here.  I appreciate you stopping by today.  Next time I am featuring Haven Point by Virginia Hume.  I hope that you have an inspiring day.  Take care, be kind, and Happy Reading!


The Avid Reader

*This post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

No comments:

Post a Comment