Tuesday, March 29, 2016

The Seven Sisters

The Seven Sisters by Lucinda Riley is the first book in the Seven Sisters series.  Maia D’Apliese is in London when she gets the news that Papa Salt (her adoptive father) has passed away.  Maia is one of six children that her father adopted during his travels and then brought home to Atlantis.  Atlantis is their home in Lake Geneva, Switzerland.  Maia is the eldest of the six girls.  The others are Alcyone (Ally), Asterope (Star), Celeano (CeCe), Taygete (Tiggy), and Electra.  They are named after the star cluster the Seven Sisters.  There is a seventh name, but their father never brought home a seventh girl.  The lawyer gives each girl a letter from their father and shows them an armillary sphere.  It was made special and there is one band for each girl.  On the band is the girl’s name, a saying, and coordinates.  The girls (well, all but one) never asked Papa Salt about their origins and now he is giving them an opportunity.  Maia’s letter also contains a little tile with names written on it.  Maia decides to look into her birth parents and sets off for Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.  The coordinates lead her to the house of the Carvalho family.  With the help of Floriano Quintelas (an author for whom Maia translated his work from Portuguese to French), Maia sets out to find out her origins.  

The story goes from 2007 (which is present for Maia) into the past as Maia reads letters from her ancestors.   I found The Seven Sisters to be a long, long book.   The author includes many descriptive paragraphs (of Atlantis, Rio, statues, etc.) which I started skimming over after a while (the book just seemed to go on forever).  The Seven Sisters is basically a romance novel with Maia’s search for her family as well as Maia finally getting confidence (and believing in herself) thrown in.  I give The Seven Sisters 3 out of 5 stars.  I think The Seven Sisters could have been much better with some editing.  I thought this novel would tell the story of all the sisters (at the beginning), but it only told Maia’s story (I imagine that there will be five more books).  Overall, it was a satisfactory novel.  I just kept hoping for a twist about Papa Salt to be thrown in (clues that he was still alive).

The second book in the Seven Sisters series is The Storm Sister and it is available now.  I received a complimentary copy of The Seven Sisters from NetGalley (and the publisher) in exchange for an honest review.

I am starting to catch up on the books I was not able to get to previously (while my father was ill).  I hope all of you have a nice, relaxing evening!  Take care and Happy Reading.

The Avid Reader

This is the cover for the UK.  Just gorgeous!

No comments:

Post a Comment