Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Breach of Crust

Happy Book Release Day!  I love it when all the new books start arriving on my Kindle just after midnight (what can I say!  I am a book geek!).  On April 5 in 1614 Pocahontas married John Rolfe, George Washington executes his veto power over a bill in 1792 (first time this power was used by a US President), the Dutch explorer Jacob Roggeveen discovers Easter Island (want to guess on what day he found this island) in 1722, and Firestone Tire and Rubber Company (as it was originally called) begins production of balloon tires.  

Breach of Crust by Ellery Adams is the fifth book in The Charmed Pie Shoppe Mystery series.  Ella Mae LeFaye is getting ready to close up The Charmed Pie Shoppe for the day, but they are waiting on a customer who has ordered every pie on the menu.  However, she has only taken one bite from each piece.  The customer asks to speak with Ella Mae.  Her name is Bea Burbank.  Mrs. Burbank is president of the Camellia Club in Sweetbriar, Georgia.  She is organizing their annual retreat.  They are asking three different dessert chefs to teach the members recipes they can use in their latest fundraising cookbook (for scholarships and to help a young woman who was burned with her surgeries).  Ella Mae, of course, agrees to help.  The retreat will be held Havenwood so it is no trouble for Ella Mae.

Ella Mae is also working to help Opal Garner.  Opal is dying of cancer and she wants to see her daughter, Loralyn before she dies.  Loralyn fled town and no one has seen her (or heard from her).  She also happens to be Ella Mae’s enemy.  Ella Mae, though, cannot refuse to help a dying woman.  To help extend Opal’s life (or heal her), Ella Mae and friends start looking for a magical object.  Will she be able to find one in time?  Ella Mae is on her dock late at night and notices someone in the water.  She dives in and finds the body of Bea Burbank.   It turns out that their research for a magical object leads them right back to the Camellia Club (and want to guess what else Ella Mae finds).  Ella Mae can solve Bea’s murder, find a magical object, and help Opal at the same time!

Breach of Crust was a delight to read.  I enjoyed every moment of this book, and I really did not want it to end.  In order to understand what is going on in Breach of Crust, you do need to read the other books in The Charmed Pie Shoppe Mystery series (or you will be lost).  Breach of Crust is well-written (as usual), has charming characters, romance (not just between Hugh and Ella Mae), humor, and some magic.  Ellery Adams crafted an enchanting tale with Breach of Crust.  I give Breach of Crust 5 out of 5 stars (which you know I rarely do).  The ending in this novel will leave you smiling.

The other four books in The Charmed Pie Shoppe Mystery series are Pies and Prejudice, Peach Pies and Alibis, Pecan Pies and Homicide, and Lemon Pies and Little White Lies. I received a complimentary copy of Breach of Crust from NetGalley in exchange for an honest evaluation of the novel.

I hope you got some wonderful new books today!  Have a delightful evening!  Take care and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment