Monday, February 22, 2021

Mending Hearts by Janice Kay Johnson


Book Summary

Mending Hearts by Janice Kay Johnson has David Miller returning to Tompkin’s Mill after being absent for six years.  He fled after the death of his best friend and business partner, Levi.  David feels that Levi’s death was his fault, and the guilt has been eating at him.  The day after he returns, David encounters Miriam Bowman at a barn raising.  Miriam and Levi had been courting and most people believed they would soon announce their betrothal.  Miriam blames herself for Levi’s death.  She works at the local quilt shop and has yet to marry.  With the Bowman farm bordering David’s new property, they are thrown together frequently.  It gives them a chance to talk and they become friends.  David has loved Miriam since she was a teen, and his feelings continue to deepen.  He does not feel he is worthy of Miriam while she does not feel worthy of love.  Miriam and David need to overcome their feelings of guilt if they are to move forward with their lives and have a fulfilling future.

My Thoughts

Mending Hearts by Janice Kay Johnson is the 2nd A Tompkin’s Mill Novel.  It can be read as a standalone for those who have not read Turning Home.  I thought Mending Hearts was well-written with developed characters.  I like that we get to catch up with the characters from Turning Home.  David Miller and Miriam Bowman both feel guilt over the death of Levi.  Both of them need to come to terms with Levi’s death plus forgive themselves.  It is the only way they can move forward with their lives.  We see Miriam and David struggle with the guilt and loss of faith.  I like that we get to know Miriam and David as well as their families and community.  I like how the people in the community help each other.  If someone has a need, they are there to assist (whether they want it or not).  I thought Mending Hearts was an emotional novel about love, forgiveness, family, faith, and second chances.  I like the drama in the second half of the book.  It added another level of depth to the story.  We get to see Miriam and David struggling with their faith.  They are both having difficulty turning their troubles over to God and relying on Him.  I did find the pace of Mending Hearts to be a little slow at time plus there is repetition.  I also thought the story was a little long.  These small issues aside, I enjoyed Mending Hearts.  I especially loved the puppies (they sounded adorable) and Copper, the horse David was training.  Mending Hearts is a heartwarming Amish tale with buggy rides, barn raising, quality quilts, fixing fences, disquieting guilt, and a special someone.  

Mending Hearts publishes Tuesday, February 23 and it can be obtained from Amazon*.  Turning Home is the first A Tompkin's Mill NovelFinding Hope is the third A Tompkin's Mill Novel and it will publish on June 29.  I appreciate you stopping by today and reading my review.  Tomorrow I am sharing Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower.  It is the beginning of A Farm to Table Mystery series.  I hope that you have a sparkling day.  Take care of yourself, be kind, and Happy Reading!


The Avid Reader

*This post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

No comments:

Post a Comment