Thursday, July 1, 2021

Finding Hope by Janice Kay Johnson

Book Summary

In this heartwarming and affecting Amish romance, a young woman has the chance to begin a new life in the Amish community after old betrayals come to light.

Hannah Prescott was used to the transitory life--her mother had always been a wild child, and throughout her life, Hannah became used to taking care of someone who never settled down. But everything changes when Hannah receives the startling news that her mother stole her away from her biological father and the Amish community at a young age.

Although heartbroken and confused, Hannah decides that in order to find out who she is, she needs to find out who she could have been. This includes not only a relationship with her father, but also the chance to make a connection with a young widower who recently moved to the settlement with his children. While her mother still disdains the Amish, and her new community is wary of outsiders, only Hannah can know if she's brave enough to commit to a fresh start and a real home.

My Thoughts

Finding Hope by Janice Kay Johnson is the 3rd A Tompkin’s Mill Novel.  It can be read as a standalone, but I do recommend each book in this charming Amish series.  I thought Finding Hope was well-written with developed characters.  I loved the unique concept of this book.  A woman who learns that her mother took her away from her family when she was five years old.  She discovers she has a large extended family, and she spent her early years as Amish.  I was able to put myself into Hannah’s place courtesy of the author’s writing which allowed me to understand what she is experiencing.  My attention was grabbed right away, and it was held until the end.  The story moved along at a good pace.  I liked the alternating point-of-view that allowed us to see things from different perspectives. I was up late finishing Finding Hope (I wanted to find out how everything turned out).  I enjoyed returning to Tompkin’s Mill for this heartwarming Amish tale.  

Finding Hope is available from Amazon*.  I hope you enjoy this sweet Amish tale as much as I did.  The other two A Tompkin's Mill Novels are Turning Home and Mending Hearts.  Janice Kay Johnson has Dead in the Water (Harlequin Intrigue) publishing August 24.  You can find Janice Kay Johnson's other books here.  I appreciate you joining me today.  I am off to get my final COVID shot today.  Wish me luck.  The first one gave me migraines, a sore arm, sleepiness, and a fever.  I am hoping the second shot will not have severe side effects.  It is worth it though.  I do not want to worry about getting COVID and infecting my mother.  We are also having the house pressure washed today.  I wanted to do it myself, but I soon discovered that I am not up to the task.  Tomorrow I am sharing my thoughts on Mocha, She Wrote by Ellie Alexander.  It is the 13th A Bakeshop Mystery.  May you have a glorious day.  Take care, be kind, and Happy Reading!


The Avid Reader 

*This post contains affiliate links.  As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

No comments:

Post a Comment