Monday, May 18, 2015

The Sound of Glass

The Sound of Glass by Karen White is a lovely contemporary novel.  In 1955 Edith Heyward was married to Calhoun, a lawyer, and they lived in his centuries old family home in South Carolina along with their three year old son.  While he was away, a plane crashed nearby to their home.  A suitcase landed in their yard.  Edith opened the suitcase and discovered a letter.  Edith received a visit from the police, but not about the suitcase.  Calhoun was in a car accident and died.  This is the best thing that could have happened, because Calhoun was abusive (mentally and physically).  Edith was artistic in a unique way (you have to read the book to find out) and also made wind chimes out of sea glass.  She hung them outside the house and gave them to friends.

Merritt Heyward’s husband, Cal has been deceased for two years when Merritt finds out he inherited his family home in South Carolina.  The home now belongs to Merritt.  Merritt lost her mother when she was twelve and her father passed away recently.  Merritt’s marriage to Cal was not easy.  He was abusive and cruel.  Merritt now has a hard shell around her to keep people out.  She dresses in long sleeve tops and long skirts in drab colors.

Loralee Purvis Connors was married to Merritt’s father, Richard.  She has a ten year old son, Owen.  Loralee has packed up their Georgia home and is heading to South Carolina.  She is taking Owen to meet his half-sister, Merritt.  Loralee convinces Merritt to let them stay with her.  Loralee is the opposite of Merritt.  Loralee is outgoing, friendly, always has on make-up, wears high heels, and likes leopard prints.  Loralee also has a lot of sayings.  Loralee has her work cut out for her with Merritt.  Loralee wants to see Merritt as the happy person she was before tragedy hit her life.  Owen is an adorable geek.  Merritt cannot help liking Owen.

Dr. Gibbes Heyward was Cal’s brother younger brother.  They were born ten years apart.  Gibbes is the complete opposite of his brother.  He is friendly, helpful, generous with his time, and good with children.  Gibbes originally comes to the house to get some items he would like from his old room.  He feels something for Merritt.  Merritt, being the prickly person that she is, keeps pushing him away.  Gibbes and Loralee slowly work on Merritt.

Loralee has another reason for visiting Merritt, but she is not ready to reveal it to her yet.  Slowly Merritt, Loralee, Owen, and Gibbes get to know each other.  Merritt and Gibbes also work to find out what Edith did up in the attic and the secret behind the suitcase.  The Sound of Glass is a wonderful novel.  It is a complicated novel (and I found it hard to summarize).  I give The Sound of Glass 5 out of 5 stars.  I enjoyed this book immensely.  This is the first book I have read of Karen White’s, but it will not be the last.

I received a complimentary copy of The Sound of Glass from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  The review and opinions expressed are strictly my own.

If you like cozy mysteries, Mary Ellen Hughes will have a new mystery out in her Pickled and Preserved Mystery series.  It is Scene of the Brine.  It will be out on January 5, 2016 and is currently available for pre-order.   

Thank you for visiting and reading my review.  I am currently reading Death by Coffee by  Alex Erickson.  What are you reading?  I hope you had a great Monday!  Take care and Happy Reading!

Kris Anderson
The Avid Reader

No comments:

Post a Comment