Sunday, May 3, 2020

Botched Butterscotch by Amanda Flower

Botched Butterscotch (An Amish Candy Shop Mystery) by [Amanda Flower]
Welcome!  Botched Butterscotch by Amanda Flower has Bailey King expecting her parents for Mother’s Day weekend.  Bailey has been busy preparing treats for the Mother’s Day Tea at the church that is supporting Abigail’s   Farm, a place for women to recover from addiction.  While everyone is enjoying the tea and butterscotch bars, a sticky-fingered thief makes off with the contents of the donation box (over $10,000).  Detective Little is going solo and Bailey promises to help him nab the crook and recover the cash. 
How to Host a Ladies Tea Party – Jenny Cookies
Botched Butterscotch is An Amish Candy Shop Mystery Novella (No. 4.5).  It can be read on its own (but why would you want to miss any of the books in this entertaining cozy mystery series).  I sat down and quickly devoured this humorous story.  I love the cast of characters that Amanda Flower has created for this series from Bailey King to Jethro, the polka-dotted pig.  The descriptions of the sweet treats from Swissmen’s Sweets will have you craving something yummy (recipe at the end of book).  There are delightful laugh-out-loud moments especially with Juliet Brody and her pet pig, Jethro.  Juliet is determined her son, Aidan will wed Bailey very soon (they are dating, but no imminent proposal).  The setting of Harvest, Ohio is bucolic.  I like that it is a combination Amish and English area.  The mystery suits the story and I enjoyed following Bailey as she solved the crime while giving Deputy Little credit.  Botched Butterscotch is an amusing tale that will tide me over until Marshmallow Malice comes out.  Botched Butterscotch is a delightful cozy mystery with precocious pigs, batches of butterscotch bars, a matchmaking mama, purloined philanthropy, and Mother’s Day mayhem.
Butterscotch bars-not quite like what my grandma made but look good.
Butterscotch Bars
Botched Butterscotch is available from Amazon*.  You can find the other novels in An Amish Candy Shop Mystery series hereMarshmallow Malice is the 5th novel in An Amish Candy Shop Mystery series and it will be out on May 25.  Assaulted Caramel is the first book and it is available on Kindle Unlimited.  I hope you enjoy Botched Butterscotch as much as I did.  Thank you for visiting today.  I am off to do some work around the house (unless I get caught up in a book).  I hope you have a peaceful day.  Take care, stay safe and Happy Reading!

The Avid Reader

Bookish Problem #42  Giving you money in a   bookshop is like giving   an alcoholic a credit   card in a bar.
woman reading #woman #reading - woman reading | woman reading photography | woman reading book | woman reading illustration | woman reading art | woman reading painting | woman reading newspaper | woman reading bible photography
*This post contains affiliate links.

No comments:

Post a Comment